Portfolio Items

And God created concrete

Somewhere between genesis and the poet, there is man… and the sea, this vast sandpit that we frenetically bucket out to build our churches, synagogues and mosques, our walls, bunkers and monuments, as it is true that we love carnage and death. With all these grains of folly, it is our clepsydra that is emptying.

De profundis

A few bubbles are bursting at the surface of a small pond which, this april 2020, is delivering its vernal creatures. The still cold waters remain clear and in some places I can catch a glimpse of the bottom coated with dead leaves. Soon the larvae will be nymphs and the dragonflies will take their … Read more

Horizon Tales

slideshow and pictures How many beliefs, how many hopes, how many chimeras prolong this segment that underlines the infinite?Christian Peter approaches landscape photography by unfolding his own Ariadne’s thread in the tangle of a human presence whose signs seem elliptical. He builds an iconography in which the horizon line stretches at the center of the … Read more

Beyond this limit…

A song by Joan ArmatradingA house too big for solitudeUnexpected visit from my alter egosStormy debates and stupid gamesMockery exalts reprieveSelf-portraits beside myself

The Blackbird

slideshow When it catches sight of its reflection in the window, the blackbird defends its territory against an intruder that it doesn’t recognize, and the struggle triggers a curious dance. This particular bird appeared at my window in December 2018, and came back to face its rival for more than a month. As legend has … Read more

The Fall

slideshow On a bridge that spans the Rhine, I often go and gaze at it, sometimes photograph it. Seeing it thus transformed by what is woven upstream or by the mood of the sky conjures up a scenography that fascinates me.

Abstracting Forms

On either side of the road, black and white rectangles censor the landscape and conceal the promise of a visual and artistic harvest. On that day, under a leaden sky, the scheme could begin, devised as a diversion of backgrounds. Two viewing points, two focal depths add together their transparencies… Abstracting forms.

Factory Telling

Consigned to the dustbin of history, repudiated factories are expecting garbage collectors in a cathedral-like silence.As an industrialist, I thought they were fiery … I came back just in time to abstract from them these photographic paintings, sheltered from shadows and memory.

Éléments du portfolio

La chute

diaporama Sur un pont qui enjambe le Rhin, souvent je vais la contempler, parfois la photographier et la voir ainsi métamorphosée par ce qui se trame en amont ou par l’humeur du ciel relève d’une scénographie qui me dépasse et me fascine.

Et Dieu créa le béton

Quelque part entre la genèse et le poète, il y a l’homme… et la mer, cet immense bac à sable que nous draguons à godets rabattus pour construire nos églises, synagogues et mosquées, nos murs, bunkers et monuments, tant il est vrai que nous aimons le carnage et la mort. Avec tous ces grains de … Lire la suite

De profundis

Quelques bulles éclatent à la surface d’un petit étang, qui en ce mois d’avril 2020 accouche de ses créatures printanières. L’eau encore froide reste claire et par endroits, je peux apercevoir le fond tapissé de feuilles mortes. Bientôt les larves seront nymphes et les libellules prendront leur éphémère envol, avant que les crapauds retournent s’enterrer.

Factory Telling

Jetées aux poubelles de l’histoire, les usines répudiées attendent les éboueurs dans un silence de cathédrale.Industriel, je les croyais ardentes… je suis revenu in-extremis leur abstraireces tableaux photographiques, à l’abri de la pénombre et de la mémoire.

Abstractions faites

De part et d’autre de l’autoroute, des rectangles noirs et blancs censurent le paysage et masquent une promesse de récolte plasticienne. Ce jour-là sous un ciel de plomb, le processus échafaudé comme un détournement de fond pouvait commencer. Deux points de vue, deux focales additionnent leurs transparences… Abstractions faites.

Le merle noir

diaporama Lorsqu’il aperçoit son reflet dans une vitre, le merle noir défend son territoire contre un intrus qu’il ne reconnaît pas, et la lutte déclenche un curieux ballet. Apparu à ma fenêtre en décembre 2018, cet oiseau-là est revenu affronter son adversaire pendant plus d’un mois. La légende quant-à elle, dit que le merle vient … Lire la suite

Autoportraits

Une chanson de Joan ArmatradingUne maison trop grande pour la solitudeVisite surprise de mes alter egosHouleuses discussions et jeux de consLa dérision exalte le sursisAutoportraits dans tous mes états

Horizon tales

diaporama et images Combien de croyances, combien d’espoirs et combien de chimères prolongent ce trait qui souligne l’infini ?Christian Peter aborde la photographie de paysage en déroulant son fil d’Ariane dans l’écheveau d’une présence humaine dont les signes paraissent elliptiques. Il construit une iconographie dans laquelle la ligne d’horizon s’étire au centre des images, comme … Lire la suite